Beth Slatyer

(Co-convenor) Beth Slatyer is passionate about improving health and wellbeing for all. She is an Honorary Fellow at the Nossal Institute for Global Health at the University of Melbourne and works on health and development across the Pacific. She was previously a Senior Health Specialist with AusAID and through that work developed a deep appreciation of how good governance, public interest institutions and accountability underpin equitable and sustainable social and economic systems.

Beth was born and bred in Canberra — and is committed to giving voice to all Canberrans who want a well-functioning democracy which operates in the public interest.

Bob Douglas

(Ordinary Member) Bob Douglas, since his retirement from the Foundation Directorship of  the National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health at the ANU in 2001 has been first, the Chair and now a Director of Australia21.

He was, from 2006 to 2012 Chair of SEE-Change, for which he currently leads a Youth Parliament on Sustainability in schools across the ACT.

Fiona Tito Wheatland

(Public Officer) Fiona was a foundation member of CAPaD and one of the inaugural Deputy Co-convenors. While in 2017 she stood down from the Executive, she remained involved in various ways with CAPaD and Deliberate ACT. Was Deputy Convener in 2019, and has continued as Public Officer in 2020.

She is strongly interested in a more effective democracy and ways that the voices of all citizens can positively shape our community for the common good. She has considerable management experience within governments and other organisations and has legal, policy and writing skills. She is looking forward to working with the Committee and members in the networking and consolidation phase of CAPaD’s development. She is also actively involved with the Canberra Restorative Community Network, and sees both organisations as part of a complementary network, both working towards a more positive, engaged, sustainable and relational Canberra.

Margaret Lee

Margaret is a foundational member of CAPaD and been active in the MLA Relationships Roles and Responsibilities Action Group, joining the Committee in 2019.

Mark Spain

(Treasurer) Mark Spain is a leader and learner in developing systems, structures and processes that build innovation, curiosity and high-trust relationships with people and their organisations to produce sustainable business results.

He enjoys working with energetic teams of people who are focused on creating extraordinary results.

He is particularly passionate about implementing sustainable and ethical business management systems that build success for all players, and for the future.

Currently he is Chair of SEE-Change.

His family, climbing mountains and house-building rate highly, too.

Peter W. Tait

(Secretary) Peter Tait has been a General Practitioner for 35 years, 30 in Aboriginal health in Central Australia. He was the 2007 RACGP GP of the Year. He achieved a Masters of Climate Change at ANU in 2010. He is an Adjunct Senior Lecturer at the ANU Medical School.

Peter believes a person’s health is grounded in a healthy society, and a healthy society on a healthy ecosystem. He is on the Board of the Public Health Association Australia and active as convener of the PHAA Ecology and Environment Special Interest Group, and in the Climate and Health Alliance, Frank Fenner Foundation, and other environment and peace groups.

Petra Cram

(Ordinary Member) Petra has been a Primary school teacher for 25 years, is committed to excellence in education and also cares deeply for the well-being of Earth and its complex living systems.

She is passionate about finding participatory and democratic solutions to the problem of the corporate takeover of our civic and political lives, and is convinced that a cohesion of our diverse civil society groups, will garner the power needed to create a balance between economic, civic and political forces in our society.

Sue Ingram

(Ordinary Member) Sue is deeply interested in exploring practical ways to improve the breadth and responsiveness of representation in our national and territory political systems and the accountability of elected representatives to their constituents and to the wider society they represent.

Her interest in governance flows from a career as a senior executive in the Australian Government, as a senior member of post-conflict peacebuilding missions in the Indo-Pacific region, as principal governance adviser in AusAID and as an international governance consultant. She is currently an honorary fellow at the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific researching the operation of political institutions in post-conflict states.